skip navigation

Varsity Wins CBJ Cup Championship

By HHC, 02/25/20, 9:30AM EST


Second Championship Completes Sweep of Varsity/JV CBJ Cup

The Hilliard Hockey Club completed their sweep of the Ohio Scholastic Hockey League Championships with a decisive 7-2 victory over the NE Storm this weekend.  Wade Bartley and staff (Joey Recktenwald and Eric Graf) led the team to their first League Championship in 10 years.  Coach Bartley said he knew from the drop of the puck they were going to get it done this year.  "The boys just had a ton of energy and a determined look to them".  I never had a doubt.

Owen Forchionne got the team off to a fast start with a goal in the first 4 minutes.  Will Kididis (Tournament MVP) and Jimmy Schwinne (Hat Trick) quickly followed with goals of their own, pushing the lead to 3-0.  The Storm came back, drawing a 5 on 3 power play and converting, making the score 3-1 early in the second.  But Hilliard came right back with goals from Schwinne and Fifolt to push the lead to 5-1 by the end of the 2nd period.  The 3rd period saw a continuation of Hilliard's dominance with Schwinne and Jaxson Gillespie chipping in 3rd period goals.  The Hilliard team was backstopped by Freshman Mason Sines, who only gave up 3 goals combined in the semi-final and final games.  

The Boys of winter will be traveling to the USA Hockey Ohio State Championship in Cleveland the Weekend of March 6-8.  Hilliard enter the tournament as the #4 seed and looks to continue its recent success.